Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Article Databases
- Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowScience topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles, images, videos and detailed experiments. (VCCS)
- Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides full-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It includes the Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases. This collection is a part of the SciTech Premium Collection. (VIVA)
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed journals & bulletins published by American Institute of Biological Sciences member societies & other closely related organizations. (VIVA)
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIncludes e-books, encyclopedias and journal articles in the Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, Health and Social Sciences & Humanities fields. After doing your search, you can limit your results to just books, reference, or journals. (VIVA)
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 terms related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
education AND history
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in that specific order.
"standardized testing" AND students
Use an asterisk (*) to find multiple endings of one word. Using educat* as a search term will include results that refer to educate, educated, educators, education, educational, and educating.
educat*