Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Articles
To search for articles on your topic through library databases, on the NOVA Libraries website see the Articles tab and look under "Recommended Databases for Most Topics" or search the databases linked below.
Search by the name of the designer, time period, and/or furniture styles.
Look for options to print, email, and cite.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
- Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Includes Art & Architecture Complete. (NVCC)
- Associates Programs Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Journals on subjects commonly taught in community colleges, including accounting, agriculture, automotive, child care, cosmetology, culinary arts and food service, forestry, graphic arts, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology and welding. (VIVA)
- Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Biographical information on over 380,000 people from throughout world history; from encyclopedias and news articles. (NVCC)
- Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window (Formerly Gale Fine Arts & Music Collection) covers 150 full-text journals that supports research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. (NVCC)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC)
- MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Reference books, magazines, journals, newspapers and primary documents. Includes an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. Covers a variety of topics. (VIVA)
- Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window U.S. and international newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts. (VIVA)
- Oxford Art Online - Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window 30,000 signed articles and images on visual arts, over 6,000 subject entries and 20,000 biographies, and 7,000 searchable images. This resource also includes the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. (NVCC)
How to Select & Search Multiple EBSCO Databases
Many of our library databases are provided by EBSCO. Depending on your topic, search through the EBSCO databases individually, or save time and search through multiple EBSCO databases at one time!
1. Open Academic Search Complete and click the Choose Databases link.
2. To search more than one database, mark the check boxes to the left of the database names. You can also use the Select / deselect all checkbox to make your selections. We recommend selecting Art Source, Associates Programs Source, MasterFILE Premier, and Newspaper Source Plus. Academic Search Complete will already be selected by default.
3. To save your selections, click OK; or click Cancel to discard your changes.
4. Enter your keywords in the search box and click search.