Detailed Articles on Specific Aspects of the Disease
Find the most up-to-date information on treatments and other aspects of the disease in journal articles using the databases linked below.
- CINAHL Complete (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature- EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Over 1400 full text journals representing many medical disciplines. The most comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health literature. Search options include peer-reviewed journal articles, evidence-based care plans, quick lessons, patient teaching materials, case studies, continuing education units (CEU), and more. (VCCS)
- PubMed This link opens in a new window The world’s pre-eminent health sciences database. A free resource that allows you to search millions of journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. (VIVA)
Overview of Causes, Symptoms, & Treatments
Find a general overview of causes, symptoms, and treatments for many disorders in books (use library catalog below), encyclopedia articles, and clinical reference tools like DynaMed.
- Salem Press Health This link opens in a new window A full-text database of articles from Magill's Medical Guide, Seventh Edition and Infectious Diseases & Conditions. (NVCC)
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window (Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) includes full-text encyclopedias, handbooks, and other sources for multidisciplinary research. (VIVA, NVCC)
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window A clinical reference tool for physicians and health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics. (NVCC)
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 ideas related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new word or idea; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
diabetes type 2 AND diet
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words).
"coronary artery disease" AND angioplasty
Use the asterisk (*) to truncate a word; this tells the database to look for all words that have the same base. In the example below, search results would include treat, treats, treated, treating, treatment, etc.
diabetes AND treat*