Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Library Catalog: For Books and Articles, Select the EVERYTHING Button
Books & Articles
Find more books and articles using the links below:
- Infectious Diseases: In Context Covers the history, politics, and ethical debate related to infectious diseases. Includes articles on how such diseases impact trade and commerce, travel, and the future of industrialized and impoverished nations. **Browse the Table of Contents or search within the publication.
- R2 Library This link opens in a new window The R2 Digital Library is a collection of more than 800 eBooks featuring a comprehensive selection of medical, nursing and allied health titles. (NVCC)
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window A clinical reference tool for physicians and health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics. (NVCC)
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Includes e-books, encyclopedias and journal articles in the Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, Health and Social Sciences & Humanities fields. After doing your search, you can limit your results to just books, reference, or journals. (VIVA)
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 ideas related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new word or idea; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
Ebola AND epidemiology
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in a specific way.
"Human papillomavirus" AND vaccine
Use the asterisk (*) to truncate a word; this tells the database to look for all words that have the same base. In the example below, search results would include diagnose, diagnoses, diagnosed, etc.
"Candida albicans" AND diagnos*
Key Terms
Pathogenesis - disease progression, incubation period, how host is affected
Epidemiology - how disease is transmitted, factors that favor transmission, etc.
Control - treatment and/or prevention