Article Databases for Magazines, Scholarly Journals & Newspapers
The best way to locate articles - from magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and law reviews -- is through library databases. Here are a few databases that you may find particularly helpful:
- Westlaw Campus Research (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Westlaw Campus Research provides access to a wealth of U.S. law sources. Includes access to journals and law reviews, cases, statutes, regulations, and legislative materials. Searchable by keyword, legal citation and document title. Includes KeyCite for updating. (NVCC) - Legal Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Law journals and magazines; includes citations, summaries, and some full text. (VIVA) - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals. (NVCC)
Law Reviews in Westlaw
- Westlaw Campus Research (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Law reviews are journal articles with analysis.
On the Westlaw search page:
- Select Secondary Sources
- Select Law Reviews & Journals
- Select a State or Topic, or type your topic in the search box.
- Select Law Reviews & Journals
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-4 words related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new word or idea; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
patriot act AND terrorism
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in a specific way.
"patriot act" AND terrorism
Most databases use the asterisk (*) to truncate a word; this tells the database to look for all words that have the same base. In the example below, search results would include "terror," "terrorist," "terrorists," and "terrorism." Note that in Westlaw you use the exclamation point (!) at the end of the word to find words with multiple endings.
"patriot act" AND terror*
"patriot act" AND terror!