Articles
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This resource offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. In addition to nearly 900 full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,500 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. (VIVA)
Searching Sociology Databases
The best database for sociology is SocINDEX with Full Text, but you may also want to add specialized databases to your search:
- Women’s Studies International
- Family Studies Abstracts
- LGBTQ+ Source
- Race Relations Abstracts
- Urban Studies Abstracts
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
- Religion and Philosophy Collection
- Violence & Abuse Abstracts
Click the SocINDEX link above, then [Choose Databases].
Stats, Maps & Data
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowStatistics on social, political, and economic conditions in the United States. (NVCC)
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowGain deep insights into any area of interest - down to a city block, with stunning visualizations and built-in data. Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads that help you reach your goals. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. (VIVA)
Research Tips
◊ Keep your search simple. Use only 2 or 3 keywords.
◊ Look at your number of results.
Too Many: Add keywords or be more specific.
Too Few: Change keywords or make them more broad.
◊ Ask for help! Librarians are happy to help!
Full Text
|
|
|
Check the FULL TEXT box if you see it. |
Peer Review
Many scholarly journals use a process called peer review.
- Before an article can be published, scholars in the author's field (the author's peers) must critically evaluate it.
- Peer review is a kind of quality control.
- Most databases have a checkbox to limit to only peer reviewed articles.
- Peer-reviewed articles are not always better than non peer-reviewed ones. It depends on your topic and assignment.
Evaluating Results
How do you decide which articles from the results list are worth clicking?
The title (Box 1) gives you an idea of what the article is about. The icon shown in Box 2 indicates the type of source - academic journal, newspaper, etc. Publication information (Box 3) tells you when, where and by whom the article was published. The abstract (or summary) comes immediately after and gives more detail on what the article is about. Finally, subject terms (Box 4) tell you what major topics are discussed in the article.