How to Use Reference Books
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference books are great resources for gathering background information on your topic, as well as for:
- Defining important vocabulary words related to your topic.
- Finding a basic overview and main issues related to your topic.
- Finding references to additional resources.
These sources are useful for initial research and gaining a broader understanding of your topic; however, they should not be included in your works cited or reference list.
Encyclopedia Search Tips
Since encyclopedia articles focus on basic, general information about a topic, what you type in the search box should also be general:
YES: "Video Games"
YES: "Video Games" and "addiction"
NO: How does video game addiction affect the socialization of teenagers?
Getting Started - Resources for Background Information
|
The Credo Reference database includes a great MindMap tool (see example at right) to help you brainstorm topic ideas. You'll find another great brainstorming tool in the Opposing Viewpoints database: Click on "Browse Issues" to see a long list of topic ideas in alphabetical order. Find more databases below: |
 |
-
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowFully-searchable collection of authoritative encyclopedia articles. (NVCC)
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 500 reference books on a variety of topics. (NVCC)
-
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
-
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowMore than 100 Oxford University Press dictionaries and reference books. (VIVA)
Encyclopedia Britannica has a web-based resource you might consult as well, ProCon.org. If you are unsure of a topic for your argumentative essay, for example, click on "More Issues" in the top navigation bar to view over 100 suggestions (accompanied by pertinent research).