Scholarly Journal and Magazine Databases
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes 300 of the world's academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present. In addition to the indexing, this resource provides full-text access to many of it's journals. (NVCC) - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC) - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals. (NVCC) - EBSCOhost – All Databases This link opens in a new windowThe main EBSCOhost landing page to browse or search multiple EBSCOhost databases at the same time.
Newspaper Databases
- ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search the most recent global news content, as well as archives stretching back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Large collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. (NVCC) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index (1851-2014) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images. (NVCC) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post (1877-2001) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. (NVCC)
Database Search Tips
Magazine, newspaper, and journal articles focus on a specific aspect of a topic, so what you type into the search box should also be specific.
Use your research question or topic sentences as a starting point to identify keywords and concepts:
How does the visual effects of The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari reveal the narrator's perspective?
| Type AND between each concept | dr caligari AND visual |
| Use "quotation marks" around phrases | "set design" AND dr caligari |
| Use an asterisk (*) to get words with multiple endings (light* will find articles with light, lights, lighting, lighted, and lightness) |
dr caligari AND light* |
| Use related terms and synonyms | dr caligari AND (light* OR shadow* OR visual OR scenery OR angles) |
In your list of results, use FILTERS/LIMITERS:
- Full Text - click the full text box so that all your results will have the entire article available for you to read
- Source Type - select magazines or academic/scholarly journals
If your topic is really specific and you're not getting enough results, you can force the database to look for your words in the complete text of the articles (otherwise the database defaults to basically just looking for your search terms in the title, abstract, and subject headings):
Trade Journals/Magazines
- Associates Programs Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals on subjects commonly taught in community colleges, including accounting, agriculture, automotive, child care, cosmetology, culinary arts and food service, forestry, graphic arts, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology and welding. (VIVA)
Trade Journals of Interest: