Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Search the Library Catalog
Browsing for Art Books
Art books are located in the "N" section of the library, meaning that most art books have an "N" at the beginning of their call number. The exception to this is for photography, which are located in the "T" section.
As a general rule of thumb, art books are located in the following sections*:
N - for General Art
NA - for Architecture
NB - for Sculpture
NC - for Drawing, Animation & Graphic Design
ND - for Painting
TR - for Photography
Examples From the Catalog
*Please note: All descriptions listed were written by the publisher, not by the creator of this research guide.
Here are some examples of phrases you could use to search the catalog:
(Rome OR Roman) AND art
Mesopotamia AND art
Art of Mesopotamia by
Mesopotamia is considered the cradle of Western civilization, and the diverse societies that flourished there, nestled around the Tigris and Euphrates rivers, were as culturally rich as this attribution would suggest. Spanning a significant historical period, from 8000 BCE to the arrival of Islam in 636 CE, Art of Mesopotamia explores spectacular structures and objects, as well as the techniques artists used, in order to gain insight into the beliefs and practices of ancient peoples. The volume also introduces the archaeologists who discovered these sites more than a thousand years later.Richly illustrated with more than 400 full-color photographs, Art of Mesopotamia is an astounding record by award-winning author Zainab Bahrani of artworks from this region, many of which have in recent years been damaged or destroyed by war, and as such is of particular and lasting importance. It includes the most up-to-date scholarship and reflects significant new approaches to Mesopotamian art over the past few decades.
Call Number: N5370 .B26 2017ISBN: 9780500292754Publication Date: 2016-12-16
Atlas of Egyptian Art by
This enchanted tour of Egyptian art by one of its early explorers is one of the most beautiful modern works on ancient Egyptian art. Prisse d'Avennes' monumental work, first published in Paris over a ten-year period between 1868 and 1878, includes the only surviving record of many lost artifacts.
Call Number: N5351 .P8213 2000Publication Date: 2001
Byzantine Art by
Byzantine is a much misused word. The book explores what kind of an art is to be described as Byzantine. Mostly religious in function, but preserving the classicism of Greco-Roman art, the buildings and objects communicate the purity and certainties of the public face of early Christian art. The book probes the underlying motives and attitudes of the society which produced such rich and delicate art forms.
Call Number: N6250 .C656 2000Publication Date: 2000
The Medici, Michelangelo, and the Art of Late Renaissance Florence by
Florence's cultural history during the Renaissance is intimately associated with the Medici family, arguably the most famous and powerful of all Italian dynasties. Successful merchants and the city's most prominent patrons of the arts and sciences, the Medici ruled Florence from the 15th century until the mid-18th century. This volume focuses upon the Medici grand dukes, who were at the height of their powers from 1537 to 1631. Under the grand dukes, Cosimo I, his sons Francesco I and Ferdinando I, and his grandson Cosimo II, Florence experienced a flowering of the arts, with commissions going to artists such as Michelangelo, Pontormo, Bronzino, Vasari and Giambologna. The Medici used the resulting buildings and works of art as a means to promote and reflect their political and cultural aspirations within their native city and throughout Europe.
Call Number: N6921.F7 M43 2002Publication Date: 2002
The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Art and Architecture by
The study of Greek and Roman Art and Architecture has a long history that goes back to the second half of the 18th century and has provided an essential contribution towards the creation and the definition of the wider disciplines of Art History and Architectural History. This venerabletradition and record are in part responsible for the diffused tendency to avoid general discussions addressing the larger theoretical implications, methodologies, and directions of research in the discipline. This attitude is in sharp contrast not only with the wider field of Art History, but alsowith disciplines that are traditionally associated with the study of Greek and Roman Art and Architecture, like Classics and Classical Archaeology. In recent years, the field has been characterized by an ever-increasing range of approaches, under the influence of various disciplines such asSociology, Semiotics, Gender Theory, Anthropology, Reception Theory, and Hermeneutics. In light of these recent developments, this Handbook seeks to explore key aspects of Greek and Roman Art and Architecture, and to assess the current state of the discipline.The Handbook includes thirty essays, in addition to the introduction, by an international team of leading senior scholars, who have played a critical role in shaping the field, and by younger scholars, who will express the perspectives of a newer generation. After a framing introduction written bythe editor, which compares ancient and modern notions of art and architecture, the Handbook is divided into five sections: Pictures from the Inside, Greek and Roman Art and Architecture in the Making, Ancient Contexts, Post-Antique Contexts, and Approaches. Together, the essays in the volume makefor an innovative and important book, one that is certain to find a wide readership.
Call Number: N5630 .O94 2015ISBN: 9780199783304Publication Date: 2014-11-04
What is a Scholarly Book
From chatGBT, on 9/30/2024
A scholarly art book typically has several distinguishing characteristics:
-
Author Expertise: The author(s) are usually experts in the field, such as art historians, curators, or academics, with credentials that demonstrate their authority on the subject.
-
Publisher: Scholarly art books are often published by academic presses, museums, or established art institutions. These publishers have a peer-review process or editorial oversight ensuring the content's quality and academic rigor.
-
Research-Based Content: Scholarly art books are based on original research or a critical synthesis of existing research. They provide in-depth analysis, interpretations, and contextual information about the artworks or artists covered.
-
Citations and References: These books include citations, footnotes, and bibliographies, allowing readers to verify sources and explore further reading. The referencing indicates engagement with a wide range of scholarly works.
-
Target Audience: The intended audience is usually scholars, students, or professionals in the art world rather than a general audience. This means the language is often more formal and assumes some background knowledge.
-
Critical Approach: Scholarly art books often take a critical approach to the subject, analyzing rather than simply describing. They may discuss theoretical frameworks, cultural contexts, or historical significance in depth.
-
Peer Review: Some scholarly books undergo a peer review process, where other experts evaluate the manuscript for accuracy, originality, and contribution to the field before publication.
-
Supporting Material: They often include supporting material like high-quality images, charts, or maps that provide additional context to the discussions, with detailed captions explaining their relevance.
Together, these elements distinguish a scholarly art book from a general art book, which might focus more on visual appeal and descriptive content without critical analysis or referencing.