Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Article Databases
- Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Includes Art & Architecture Complete. (NVCC) - Oxford Art Online - Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window30,000 signed articles and images on visual arts, over 6,000 subject entries and 20,000 biographies, and 7,000 searchable images. This resource also includes the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. (NVCC)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC) - Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Formerly Gale Fine Arts & Music Collection) covers 150 full-text journals that supports research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. (NVCC) - Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on over 380,000 people from throughout world history; from encyclopedias and news articles. (NVCC) - MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference books, magazines, journals, newspapers and primary documents. Includes an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. Covers a variety of topics. (VIVA) - Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 terms related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
Ancient Egypt AND art
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in that specific order.
"bronze age"
Use an asterisk ( * ) to find multiple endings of one word. Using symbol* as a search term will include results that refer to symbol, symbols, symbolic, symbology, and symbolism.
symbol*