Need Help?
Article Databases
The best way to locate articles on artists and their work is through the library databases. Go to Databases by Subject and look under the category Art & Architecture (ART, ARC) to find a list of relevant databases. You can also perform a search in the databases below.
- Do not enter complete sentences in the search box. Use relevant topics or keywords to perform your search.
- Search by name of the artist, the title of the work, or the historical era (including the medium, technique, or style).
- Look for additional keywords or subjects offered.
- Look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
-
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCovers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Includes Art & Architecture Complete. (NVCC)
-
Artstor This link opens in a new windowArtstor features millions of high-quality images and media. All content is rights-cleared for education and research — you are free to use it in classroom instruction and handouts, presentations, student assignments, and other noncommercial educational and scholarly activities.
Artstor is now part of JSTOR. (NVCC) -
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC)
-
Oxford Art Online - Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window30,000 signed articles and images on visual arts, over 6,000 subject entries and 20,000 biographies, and 7,000 searchable images. This resource also includes the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. (NVCC)
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
-
Associates Programs Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowJournals on subjects commonly taught in community colleges, including accounting, agriculture, automotive, child care, cosmetology, culinary arts and food service, forestry, graphic arts, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology and welding. (VIVA)
-
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window(Formerly Gale Fine Arts & Music Collection) covers 150 full-text journals that supports research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. (NVCC)
-
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and summaries for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Indexes over 2,000 journals, books and other publications, with full-text for over 700 of them. (VIVA)
-
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowReference books, magazines, journals, newspapers and primary documents. Includes an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. Covers a variety of topics. (VIVA)
