Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Art History Databases
The best way to locate articles is through the library databases. Go to Databases by Subject and look under the category Art & Architecture (ART, ARC) to find a list of relevant databases. You can also perform a search in the databases below.
Remember not to write sentences in the search box. Search by topic or keyword.
Look for additional keywords or subjects offered. Also look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
- Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCovers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Includes Art & Architecture Complete. (NVCC)
- Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window(Formerly Gale Fine Arts & Music Collection) covers 150 full-text journals that supports research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. (NVCC)
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowArtstor features millions of high-quality images and media. All content is rights-cleared for education and research — you are free to use it in classroom instruction and handouts, presentations, student assignments, and other noncommercial educational and scholarly activities.
Artstor is now part of JSTOR. (NVCC) - Oxford Art Online - Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window30,000 signed articles and images on visual arts, over 6,000 subject entries and 20,000 biographies, and 7,000 searchable images. This resource also includes the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. (NVCC)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC)
