Need Help?
Phone or Email This link opens in a new window
FAQ This link opens in a new window
Video Tutorials This link opens in a new window
Make an Appointment This link opens in a new window
Search the Library Catalog
Search Tips
Search for books on your topic in the library catalog.
- Search for synonyms and related terms, key people/organizations or key events/issues.
- Put the word AND between search terms; communication AND leadership
- eBooks and streaming videos are accessible through the catalog. If you see any in your search results, click the 'Full-text available at' link to open.
- Select 'Request Item' to have books from other NOVA libraries sent to Loudoun for pick up.
- If your book is at Loudoun be sure to write down the call number in order to locate the book on the shelf. Please click here to learn more about call numbers and finding books.
- Not enough results? Try related terms, or more general terms - e.g. instead of poodles, try dogs.
- Too many results? Try more specific terms - e.g. instead of computers, try social media AND privacy. Using AND, OR, quotation marks ( " " ) and an asterisk ( * ) can improve searching.
- In your list of results, check the menu on the left for ways to limit your results, such as by resource type or campus.
eBooks
Here are a few places you can find eBooks; from off campus you will log in with your myNOVA username and password. More information on downloading eBooks.
-
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of eBooks curated by NOVA librarians on a variety of different subjects. eBooks can be accessed in the browser or downloaded for offline use. (NVCC)
-
Infobase Publishing eBooks This link opens in a new windowA collection of eBooks on literary criticism, poets, dramatists, novelists, short story writers, period studies and current issues. Browse over 400 titles or search across the entire collection. (NVCC)
-
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new windowProvides access to thousands of Humanities and Social Science eBooks. (VIVA)
-
University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of ebooks from University of Michigan Press covering a variety of humanities and social sciences topics. (VIVA)
Textbooks on Reserve
Did you know that you can find some of your textbooks at the library? Stop by the Circulation Desk and see if your professor provided a copy for you to use.
A History of Narrative Film (below) is an informal textbook on reserve: not a required text for the class, but a recommended secondary text.
-
A History of Narrative Film
by
Publication Date: 2016-02-01Sophisticated in its analytical content, current in its coverage and informed throughout by fascinating historical and cultural contexts, A History of Narrative Film is one of the most respected and widely read texts in film studies. This fifth edition features a new chapter on twenty-first century film and includes refreshed coverage of contemporary digital production, distribution and consumption of film. Now 20% shorter, with new four-colour design and an updated art programme, A History of Narrative Film is also the only film history text available as an ebook.
Open Educational Resources
This image is shared under a Creative Commons license from opensourceway (CC BY-SA 2.0)
An open textbook is an openly-licensed textbook offered online by its author(s). The open license sets open textbooks apart from traditional textbooks by allowing users to read online, download, or print the book at no additional cost. Please check out the link here to get information about open educational resources including open textbooks.