Skip to Main Content

BIO 110: General Botany: Culinary Plants Native to the Americas (Cintas-AL)

Direct comments to aanderson@nvcc.edu

Need Help?

For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.

Search the Library Catalog

Library Catalog Search Tips

  • For more results than just books, click on EVERYTHING.  This includes books, articles, videos, and encyclopedia (reference) articles.
     
  • Select the fewest words possible to type into the search box -- just the ones most important to your topic. 
                          Give examples of cultivars of your species (e.g., quinoa)
     
  • Type   AND   between each new word or idea.  For example: 
         quinoa AND cultivars
         quinoa AND nutrition

     
  • Put quotation marks (" ") around phrases.  For example: 
         "green beans"    "sweet potato"    "chili pepper"    "winter squash"    "prickly pear cactus"
     
  • Use filters to refine your list of results:
    • Type of source: Peer-reviewed journals, Books, Book Chapters
            (You are not permitted to use encyclopedia articles - "Reference entries" - as sources in your paper.)
    • Publication date

Journal Article Databases

These databases are included in the Library Catalog "Everything" search, but by using the individual databases you will get more powerful search options.

Additional search tip for databases:

  • In your list of results, use the Full Text filter to ensure you will get the complete text of the article