Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Articles
The best way to locate articles is through the library databases. Go to the NOVA Libraries Articles tab and look under the category Recommended Databases for Most Topics to find a list of relevant databases. You can also perform a search in the databases below.
Remember not to write sentences in the search box. Search by topic keywords.
Suggested keywords include:
- infectious diseases OR communicable diseases
- vaccines OR vaccination OR immunization
- childhood vaccinations AND public health
- autism AND vaccines
Look for additional keywords offered under Subject and Subject Thesaurus. Also make sure you look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowSynthesizes the primary research literature in the biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. (VIVA)
- Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides full-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It includes the Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases. This collection is a part of the SciTech Premium Collection. (VIVA)
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed journals & bulletins published by American Institute of Biological Sciences member societies & other closely related organizations. (VIVA)
- Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Science topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles, images, videos and detailed experiments. (VCCS)
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIncludes e-books, encyclopedias and journal articles in the Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, Health and Social Sciences & Humanities fields. After doing your search, you can limit your results to just books, reference, or journals. (VIVA)
- Scientific American This link opens in a new window Articles from Scientific American, Scientific American Mind, and Scientific American Presents. (NVCC)
