Need Help?
Articles
The best way to locate articles is through the library databases. Go to Databases by Subject and look under the category Biology (BIO) to find a list of relevant databases. You can also perform a search in the selected databases and eJournals below.
- Do not enter complete sentences in the search box. Use relevant topics or keywords to perform your search.
- Put the word AND between search terms; cells AND functions.
- Connect related terms using OR; lymphocytes OR white blood cells OR immune system.
- Look for additional keywords or subjects offered.
- Look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
-
Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowScience topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles, images, videos and detailed experiments. (VCCS)
-
Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides full-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It includes the Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases. (VIVA)
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
-
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowSynthesizes the primary research literature in the biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. (VIVA)
-
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window(Formerly Health & Wellness Resource Center) Key features include reference material, full text health and medical journals, pamphlets, videos, drug guides, recommended websites. Appropriate for both student and consumer use. (NVCC)
-
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window(Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) includes full-text encyclopedias, handbooks, and other sources for multidisciplinary research. (VIVA, NVCC)
-
Journal of Cell Biology This link opens in a new windowThe Journal of Cell Biology is an international peer-reviewed journal owned by The Rockefeller University. The discipline of cell biology emerged and developed on the pages of the JCB. Many seminal discoveries have been published in the journal, including the first descriptions of numerous cellular functions and structures. (VIVA)
