Article Databases
- EBSCOhost – All Databases This link opens in a new windowMagazine, scholarly journal, and newspaper articles on a wide range of topics. Searches the contents of multiple EBSCO databases simultaneously.
- ProQuest Research Library & Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowJournals, magazines, and newspapers. Newspapers include the Washington Post, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and local newspapers
- Additional Databases by SubjectThe EBSCO databases are usually good ones to start with.
Search Tips
- Select the most important 2-4 words related to your topic.
What are the effects of medication on children with ADHD?
- Put the word AND between each new word or idea; this tells the database to look for articles with ALL terms.
medication AND children AND adhd AND effect
- Use synonyms, related terms, and subject headings:
ritalin AND children AND attention deficit hyperactivity disorder AND effect
methylphenidate AND children AND attention deficit hyperactivity disorder AND effect
drug therapy AND children AND attention deficit hyperactivity disorder AND effect
- Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases; this tells the database to look for the words right next to each other.
"drug therapy" AND children AND attention deficit hyperactivity disorder AND effect
- Use the database's filters:
Full Text
Source Type
Publication Date
- Look at the number of results.
Too Many: Add keywords or be more specific.
Too Few: Change keywords or make them more broad.