Best Bets
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes 300 of the world's academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present. In addition to the indexing, this resource provides full-text access to many of it's journals. (NVCC) - Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Formerly Gale Fine Arts & Music Collection) covers 150 full-text journals that supports research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. (NVCC) - Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA) - Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles related to communication and mass media studies. (VIVA) - Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Includes Art & Architecture Complete. (NVCC) - Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new windowProvides basic overviews of how different film topics relate the US popular culture - film genres, specific films, film in a particular decade and actors/directors. This resource is great if you want to know how the Cold War affected horror movies of the 50's and 60's. Not for film reviews or criticism.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia articles giving brief overviews of films, directors, techniques and more.
- Moving Image Source Research GuideA listing of free online, peer reviewed journals in film.
More Film Databases
Film studies is interdisciplinary, meaning that it has close relationships with other disciplines (like sociology, history, women's studies, LGBTQIA+ studies...). If you can't find what you need from the databases above, try looking at databases in related disciplines:
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC)
Research Tips
◊ Keep your search simple. Use only 2 or 3 keywords.
◊ Look at your number of results.
Too Many: Add keywords or be more specific.
Too Few: Change keywords or make them more broad.
◊ Ask for help! Librarians are happy to help!