Databases with Scholarly Journal Articles
While these databases are included in the Library Catalog ARTICLES search from the first page of this guide, you can do more powerful searches directly in the databases themselves.
- EBSCOhost – All Databases This link opens in a new windowSearch multiple Ebsco databases simultaneously to find scholarly journal articles and news articles. For just scholarly articles, limit your results to PEER REVIEWED.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis resource offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. In addition to nearly 900 full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,500 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. (VIVA)
Periodical Types
Articles are published in periodicals, which is any type of publication published at a regular interval (weeks, months, etc.). Periodical types include magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and peer-reviewed scholarly journals. These types of sources are different from each other:
- Magazines and newspapers (also called popular sources) are written by journalists and intended for the general public - no specialized knowledge is necessary to understand them. They provide current information on events and issues.
- Trade publications are written by and for professionals in a particular occupation. They provide news and general updates related to that occupation.
- Peer-reviewed journal articles are written by experts for other experts. They are sharing new discoveries and analyses in their disciplines, and are extremely detailed and focused. Click here for more information on identifying scholarly sources.
Learn More about a Magazine, Journal, or Newspaper
You can check a magazine or newspaper's website for information about their mission and perspective (look for an "About Us" section).
You can also find information about magazines and newspapers in this library database, which provides basic overviews and sometimes reviews for thousands of magazines, journals, and newspapers:
- UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new windowInformation on selected periodicals and serials published in the United States and throughout the world. (VIVA)