Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Databases
The best way to locate articles is through the library databases. Go to the NOVA Libraries homepage and select the Articles tab. Look under the 'Recommended Databases ' listing to find relevant databases. You can also search directly in the databases listed below. Log in with your MyNOVA username and password when prompted.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA) - Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes the computing and applied sciences disciplines. It includes indexing, abstracts, and full text for academic journals, professional publications, and reference sources. Subject areas include engineering, computer theory & systems, new technologies, and social and professional context. (VIVA) - Computer Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nearly 300 full-text journals and magazines covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. (NVCC) - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals. (NVCC) - Salem Press Careers This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of articles to assist students and job-seekers to learn more about today's most popular careers (NVCC).
Browse for your career and view the 'Technological Environment" heading for more information.
Periodical Types
Articles are published in periodicals, which is any type of publication published at a regular interval (weekly, monthly, quarterly). Periodical types include magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and scholarly journals which:
- Provide detailed information about a specific aspect of a topic.
- Report on events, issues, or scholarly research.
- Are good sources for current or recent information.
Magazines, journals and newspapers typically do NOT provide a summary or overview of a topic.
More information on finding scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.
Why can't I just use Google?
This video by Yavapai College Library in Prescott, Arizona demonstrates the different types of information found in Google versus library databases.
Click the 
icon located in the bottom right corner to watch the video in fullscreen mode.