Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Article Databases
- Associates Programs Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowJournals on subjects commonly taught in community colleges, including accounting, agriculture, automotive, child care, cosmetology, culinary arts and food service, forestry, graphic arts, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology and welding. (VIVA)
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowArticles from journals, magazines and newspapers that are business oriented, company reports, industry reports and country reports. (VIVA)
- MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowReference books, magazines, journals, newspapers and primary documents. Includes an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. Covers a variety of topics. (VIVA)
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowExtensive company information, broad industry reports. (VIVA)
- O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window**If you cannot access this resource, try a different browser and clear your cache/cookies**
Resources on topics ranging from leadership, business, management, and project management to programming languages, software development, and computer networking, and more. These topics are covered in a variety of formats, which include eBooks, live training, on-demand tutorials, videos, case studies, and audio-books. (VIVA) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index (1851-2014) This link opens in a new windowProvides first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images. (NVCC)
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post (1877-2001) This link opens in a new windowProvides first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. (NVCC)
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 terms related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
marketing AND social media
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in that specific order.
"social media" AND marketing
Use an asterisk (*) to find multiple endings of one word. Using promot* as a search term will include results that refer to promote, promotes, promoted, promoting, promotional, and promotion.
promot*