Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Suggested Databases to Search for Articles
It's a good idea to start your research by looking for articles in library databases. Try the general databases below, or check Research Databases by Subject to find databases focused on specialized areas like health, IT, business, sociology and more. For help, view Database Tutorial videos.
- ProQuest Research Library & Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers, including the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and many regional newspapers. (NVCC)
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
Search Tips
Search using the most important words to describe your topic, including synonyms and related terms. Within articles, notice options to email articles and view citations.
For more help, view Search Strategy Tutorials.
| Topic | Possible Keywords |
| Artificial Intelligence | AI, machine intelligence, intelligent machines, artificial thinking, algorithms, deep learning, robots... |
| Student Outcomes in Online Classes |
online classes, online learning, remote learning, hybrid courses... student outcomes, grades, GPA, graduation rates, course completion, student persistence... |
| Electric Cars | electric vehicles, autonomous vehicles, hybrid electric vehicles, charging infrastructure, EV sales... |
| Housing Equity | affordable housing, Fair Housing Act, housing discrimination, rent control... |
| Flexible Workplaces | flexible working hours, work-life balance, telecommuting, remote work... |