Visual Aids

Graphics, data charts, and other visual aids can be found through the library databases.

Some of the key databases for locating relevant images are located below.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Limit your results by 'Image Quick View Types' to Chart, Diagram, Graph, Illustration, or Map.
Coverage includes over 8,914 journals and magazines dating back to 1887.
Subjects include: Animal science; Anthropology; Astronomy; Biology; Chemistry; Engineering; Ethnic and multicultural studies; General science; Geography; Geology; Law; Mathematics; Music; Pharmaceutical sciences; Physics; Psychology; Religion and philosophy; Science and technology; Veterinary science; Women's studies; Zoology.
AP Newsroom (EBSCO)
A daily updated primary source resource from the Associated Press (AP) with images, audio sound bites, graphics and text. (NVCC)
Coverage includes over 4.5 million items dating back to the 1800s; Updated daily.
Subjects include: Domestic historical events; International historical events; Sports; Financial news.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Limit your results to Infographics or Statistics.

Suggested Websites

Graphics, data charts, and other visual aids can be found through reputable and verified websites.

Some suggested websites for locating relevant images are located below.

Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. The site features a number of data sets and tools for analyzing data relevant to your assignment in this class.
United States Census Bureau
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the nation's leading provider of quality data about its people and economy.
The Urban Institute
The Urban Institute is a nonprofit research organization that provides data and evidence to help advance upward mobility and equity. We are a trusted source for changemakers who seek to strengthen decisionmaking, create inclusive economic growth, and improve the well-being of families and communities. For more than 50 years, Urban has delivered facts that inspire solutions—and this remains our charge today.

USAFacts presents metrics on all US governments, from federal records to a growing collection of state and county data. The site uses publicly available government data presenting a vast array of reports on US spending, revenue, population and demographics, and policy outcomes. We don’t make judgments or prescribe policies. Whether government money is spent wisely or not, whether the quality of life is improving or getting worse — that’s for you to decide. Topics covered by this repository and analytic presentation of data include Child & Social Services, Climate, Economy, Education, Health, and Wealth & Savings.
Data Commons has organized data about economics, demographics, health, sustainability, education, housing, commuting, and equity. The data are sourced from a wide range of entities, ranging from governmental statistical organizations like census bureaus to organizations like the World Bank and the United Nations. The site features tools for students, researchers, journalists, non profits, policymakers, and private enterprises that allow you to manipulate and make decisions based on data without the need to know how to code.
The World Bank's World Development Indicators is a compilation of relevant, high-quality, and internationally comparable statistics about global development and the fight against poverty. The database contains 1,400 time series indicators for 217 economies and more than 40 country groups, with data for many indicators going back more than 50 years. You can explore data themes or mine the data bank to create your own charts and graphs,