Virtual Book Display
Web Sites
- Social Media - Research and Data from Pew Research Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world.
- Social Media Research Toolkit The Social Media Research Toolkit is a list of 50+ social media research tools curated by researchers at the Social Media Lab at Ted Rogers School of Management, Ryerson University. The kit features tools that have been used in peer-reviewed academic studies. Many tools are free to use and require little or no programming. Some are simple data collectors such as tweepy, a Python library for collecting tweets and others are a bit more robust such as Netlytic, a multi-platform (Twitter, YouTube, RSS Feed, or text/csv file) data collector and analyzer, developed by the lab. All of the tools are confirmed available and operational.
- Social Media Macroscope The Social Media Macroscope is a project by University of Illinois Technology Services and the National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA) with the goal of making social media data, analytics, and visualization tools accessible to researchers and students of all levels of expertise.
Explore More Resources Through NOVA Libraries
Use library databases for free with your MyNOVA login to search for articles from scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and more. See links below, or explore Databases by Subject or Databases A-Z.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis resource offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. In addition to nearly 900 full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,500 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. (VIVA)
- ProQuest Research Library & Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers, including the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and many regional newspapers. (NVCC)
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on controversial issues in the news. (VCCS)
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
