Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Search the Library Catalog
Article Databases
- EBSCOhost – All Databases This link opens in a new windowMagazines, scholarly journals, newspapers, and ebooks on a wide range of topics, including food, health, environment, education, politics, business, and social issues.
- ProQuest Research Library & Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers, including the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and many regional newspapers. (NVCC)
- SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals and eBooks, focusing on agriculture, the environment, engineering, biology, earth and aquatic science, and technology. - Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
Database Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 terms related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with all your terms.
food waste AND apps
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in that specific order.
"genetically modified organism" AND food
Use OR in between synonyms, alternate spellings, related terms, etc.
GMO OR "genetically modified organism"
If you don't get good results, try again. Change up your keywords - try synonyms and related terms.
Use database filters, Full Text, Source Type, Publication Date, to help you limit to the types of sources your are looking for.