Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Begin Your Research
When beginning to learn about a new topic, it is a good guideline to begin with background information to learn key topics, terms, and ideas you may want to learn more about. You can use these reference databases to gather that information before you dive into research databases.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 500 reference books on a variety of topics. (NVCC)
- DynaMed This link opens in a new windowA clinical reference tool for physicians and health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics. (NVCC)
Next Steps
Once you have a good overview and idea of what you want to learn about, use what you've learned to dive into a research database like the ones below. These databases include items like scholarly journal and peer-reviewed articles, magazines for professionals and even videos of skills and procedures.
- CINAHL Complete (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature- EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Over 1400 full text journals representing many medical disciplines. The most comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health literature. Search options include peer-reviewed journal articles, evidence-based care plans, quick lessons, patient teaching materials, case studies, continuing education units (CEU), and more. (VCCS)
- Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThis database offers complete coverage for top dental and oral sciences journals, an extensive collection of important full-text journals, many with no embargo. (NVCC)
