Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Finding and Using Images
Here you will find high-resolution image and map databases!
"Washington Crossing the Delaware", painted by Emanuel Leutze
ca. 1851 CE, oil on canvas, Metropolitan Museum of Art, NY. Image courtesy of ARTstor.
Maps & Images
- AtoZ: Maps OnlineA collection of over 145,000 maps and other geography resources.
- University Texas at Austin Perry-Castañeda Library Map CollectionOnline collection of current and historic physical and political maps.
- University Texas at Austin Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection: Thematic MapsOnline collection of thematic maps, including land use maps.
- Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new windowMore than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best image collections in the world. (NVCC)
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowArtstor features millions of high-quality images and media. All content is rights-cleared for education and research — you are free to use it in classroom instruction and handouts, presentations, student assignments, and other noncommercial educational and scholarly activities.
Artstor is now part of JSTOR. (NVCC)
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index (1851-2014)Provides first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images. (NVCC)
Harvard Library - Scanned Maps
Harvard Library has scanned thousands of maps and atlases form the Harvard Map Collection in hi-resolution.
Search by location, date of creation, and other limiters.
Harvard Library Digital Collections: Scanned Maps
Plan of Boston comprising a part of Charlestown and Cambridge, created by George Girdler Smith, ca. 1835.
Image Courtesy of Harvard Library Digital Collections