Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Identifying Topics & Developing Keywords
These databases are great for learning about your topic and other things related to your topic. In other words, these databases can help you identify keywords that will make your searching easier.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 500 reference books on a variety of topics. (NVCC)
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on controversial issues in the news. (VCCS)
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
Finding Sources
Academic sources - The following is a database that contains mostly academic sources from a wide variety of topics. Academic sources tend to be theoretical, experimental, or focused on abstract concepts rather than specific events.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
- Searching Academic Search CompleteThis video introduces the Academic Search Complete multidisciplinary database.
News & Magazines - the following database is ideal if you're searching for newspaper and magazine articles related to your topic. Newspapers and magazines, which are not scholarly sources, are better than academic sources for finding information on current events and rapidly evolving contemporary issues.
- ProQuest Research Library & Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers, including the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and many regional newspapers. (NVCC)
- ProQuest Research Library & Global NewsstreamThis video explores the ProQuest Research Library & Global Newsstream databases and tools you can use to get the best search results.
Reports and Reference Sources - Depending on your topic, you may find reports from professional or research organizations helpful. You can also use reference sources, which are summaries of lots of other sources.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on issues in the news. Reports include background information, chronology of important events, pro/con section, outlook, and more. (VCCS)
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 500 reference books on a variety of topics. (NVCC)
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on controversial issues in the news. (VCCS)
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
Statistics - Numbers and percentages are easy to understand and easy to incorporate into speeches. Always be careful of the sources of your statistics, however, as 95% of them are made up.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowStatistics on social, political, and economic conditions in the United States. (NVCC)
Library Catalog - This is where you'll find print and ebooks held by NOVA Libraries. Books provide more in depth information about a topic than do scholarly articles. Books cover multiple aspects of a topic and/or cover a single aspect in more detail than is possible for an article to cover.
- Searching for Books in the CatalogThis link takes you to a list of video tutorials on searching for and accessing books in the library catalog.