Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Research Process
Finding Sources for Assignments
- Finding Sources for Assignments WorksheetUse this worksheet both in and out of class as a guide for finding sources for assignments. This worksheet begins with identifying keywords and then guides you on how to use keywords effectively in database searches.
Answering Career Questions - Free Online Resources
The following resources are freely available on the Internet. These websites provide quality information and are updated regularly.
- O*Net OnlineA database that provides information on job characteristics and worker attributes, including knowledge, skills, and abilities; interests; preparing for the job; contexts, tasks; and frequently used technology. ONET OnLine offers occupational descriptions and data, while the O*NET Interest Profiler is a self-scoring test that matches a user's interests and work experience to careers.
- Occupational Outlook HandbookThe Occupational Outlook Handbook is a publication of the U.S. Dept. of Labor. It provides information about job duties, working conditions, training and education requirements, wages, and job outlook.
Answering Career Questions - Library Databases
The following resources are library databases that you have access to as a NOVA student. You will be prompted to log in with your VCCS username to access the materials.
- Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new windowIncludes information on job and industry profiles, job-hunting and workplace skills, career and industry resources, and college planning and financial aid. (NVCC)
- Salem Press Careers This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of articles to assist students and job-seekers to learn more about today's most popular careers (NVCC).
