Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Articles
The best way to locate articles is through the library databases. Go to Databases by Subject and look under the category Current Events & Controversial Issues to find a list of relevant databases. You can also perform a search in the databases below.
Remember not to write sentences in the search box. Search by topic or keyword.
Look for additional keywords or subjects offered. Think about synonyms for the phrase "American Dream." You may find them in an encyclopedia entry. Why not search for "American Dream" in the Encyclopedia Britannica and see whether there are other phrases you can use in your research.
Also make sure you look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on issues in the news. Reports include background information, chronology of important events, pro/con section, outlook, and more. (VCCS)
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on controversial issues in the news. (VCCS)
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
