Skip to Main Content

From the Stacks - #3 June 2024: Home

The NOVA Library Staff Newsletter

 

 

 

 

 

Stories

Ku! Ku! Kudios!
Bask in Our Positive Feedback from the NOVA Community

Welcome to NOVA - Part 1
Roxx Young inna house!

The World in Our Stacks
We Are the World

Welcome to NOVA - Part 2
Maddie the Librarian is here!

Google's Big AI Adventure
Making Our Jobs Harder

Welcome to NOVA - Part 3
Abbie the Librarian is here!

Welcome to NOVA - Part 4
Can't have too many Maddies, really!

Scribble Scrawl
Summer Games

Vacant Full-Time Positions
Please share!

Committee Members, Meeting Days and Times
Who to Call

 

 

 

Ku! Ku! Kudios!

By the appreciative NOVA Community

 

At the end of the school year the NOVA Library staff deserves to take in the appreciative comments made by members of the NOVA Community for our year of hard work, well done. Please take a moment to fully absorb these compliments and plaudits. We are an excellent team and we deserve EVERY WORD! Even if the comment was directed to an individual - we can all appreciate it as if it was directed to us personally because each of us is contributing to these positive outcomes. Enjoy!

 

A student walked into the library, spotted me, came over and said, “I got an A on my presentation about Alice Walker! I blew the rest of my class away and I couldn’t have done it without your help!,” then turned around and walked out. I was tickled that he came in for the express purpose of letting me know. 😊 -Alexis

 

 

Best recent kudos I’ve received came from a student who did not know English well. She was struggling trying to print off her resume from her computer the 1st time and she needed help resetting her password the 2nd time she came into the library.

To make a long story short, when she came back into the library, she intentionally waited around for me to help her because she was so excited to tell me that she had gotten the job because of my help with her resume, and she really appreciated that I took my time showing her what to do, treated her like a person, and did not rush her through the process of learning. (mostly read/spoke through Google translate-which she did not know she had on her phone to help her translate!)

She wanted to bring me a food dish from her country, but I told her that wasn’t necessary and seeing her happy and succeeding was good enough for me! --Nadia

 

 

The best kudos I've gotten recently was when I ran into a student working at Food Lion. It was 10 o'clock at night, and I was on a mission for ice cream. The student, who I'm sure was tired after a long shift, flagged me down and told me how much they appreciated my help. They said their paper turned out much better than they expected and said they couldn't have done it without me. It was a nice random experience, and all because of a late-night ice cream run. – Russell

 

 

I got this kudo following a LibChat Ticket I responded to about citing sources: “thanks a lot for your interest. now i can cite the references properly thanks to your effort. I'm so glad to reach out to you. really i'm grateful to you. have a great day.” –Julie

 

 

Dear wonderful team,
Thank you so much for the outstanding work that you have done today in celebrating the mole day. With your help, we were able to make a fantastic event in celebrating the "Mole Day" at MA campus. We have had more than 100 students participated today. The students were very thrilled and encouraged to run all the activities. Dr. Chang and our colleagues from the other campuses were happy to come and show their support. They even asked me to join next year. This event could not have happened without each and every one of you!
You have all really shined today and we would be lucky if you helped out again next year. Thanks again for all your hard work and support!
Warms regards,
Amany

 

 

As we celebrate National Library Week (April 7-13), it's an opportune time to recognize the invaluable contributions of libraries and their dedicated staff members. Our library plays an essential role in our campus community, providing a haven for connection, learning, and engagement.
The Woodbridge Campus Library team -- comprised of Anne Beebe, Kerry Cotter, Russell Grooms, Stephanie Sharkey, and Karen Williams -- is at the forefront of fostering a vibrant intellectual environment. With their passion and expertise, they ensure that the library remains a welcoming space for students and faculty alike.
Libraries serve as vital resources for people in any stage of life. Whether you are seeking a new career path, conducting research, or simply looking for a place to unwind with a good novel, libraries offer a sanctuary for all.
As we commemorate National Library Week, it's crucial to shine a light on the remarkable efforts of our library staff. With their dedication and tireless commitment, they keep our library running smoothly, enriching our campus in countless ways.
The Woodbridge Campus Library stands as a beacon of knowledge and support. This National Library Week let's join together in celebrating our outstanding campus library team. --Dr. Richmond Hill

 

 

 

 

 

 

Welcome to NOVA - Part 1

By R. Young (She / They)

Roxx Young is our new Collection Development Librarian at the Woodbridge Campus. They recently answered a few questions as a big HELLO to NOVA Libraries.

What is the pet situation at your house?

None at the moment unfortunately! I’ve only been living in my current apartment for a few months, however I miss my fuzzy family members from when I lived with my parents, so maybe there’s a new critter in the cards for me soon! My parents have an adorable little fluffball named Zoey, whom I miss very much, a Shih-Tzu Poodle mix.

Other NOVA Library staff should definitely call on you when they need . . . ?

Well, my BA is in history, particularly European history but I love all of it! So, I would like to think that’s my specialty. I also love fantasy and science fiction and will gladly talk at length about them.

What is your superpower?

Wow, I’m not sure if I have one! I like to think I have lots of small talents. I play a guitar and bass and dabble in a little music production, but I’m by no means an expert. I like to cook and make cocktails, but I’m not master chef either! I just like to learn new things!

center

 

 

 

 

 

The World in Our Stacks

By J. Harold

This feature links items in the news to various books, authors, and subjects that our NOVA libraries own. Take a look at the ways the world shows up in our stacks! 

Kwame Brathwaite (January 1, 1938-April 1, 2023) was an American photojournalist and activist known for popularizing the phrase "Black is Beautiful" and documenting life and culture in Harlem and Africa. "In photos, he captured the beauty of Black life"--The Washington Post. The libraries have one title showing his photographic work that includes his commentary on his life.

Eileen Chang (September 30, 1920-September 8, 1995) was a Chinese-born American essayist, novelist, and screenwriter. She gained literary prominence in Japanese-occupied Shanghai between 1943 and 1945, but after the Chinese Civil War, she fled the country. In recent decades, her works have become popular reading in Taiwan, Hong Kong, Mainland China, and Chinese diaspora communities throughout the world, with readers drawn to her work by stories of lust, heartbreak and betrayal. "Love, ambition but no politics: China's women rush to Eileen Chang"--The Washington Post. The libraries have four titles by her. NYRB Classics is publishing a new collection of her work this year.

David Kahn (February 7, 1930-January 23, 2024) was an American historian, journalist, and writer. He wrote extensively on the history of cryptography and military intelligence. His first published book, The Codebreakers: The Story of Secret Writing (1967), has been widely considered to be a definitive account of the history of cryptography. "Historian who cracked the code of cryptology"--The Washington Post. The libraries currently have two titles by him. The Codebreakers is no longer available in our collection.

William Knowlton Zinsser (October 7, 1922-May 12, 2015) was an American writer, editor, literary critic, and teacher. He began his career as a journalist for the New York Herald Tribune, where he worked as a feature writer, drama editor, film critic and editorial writer. He was also a longtime contributor to once leading magazines, such as Life and Look. "Influential author of 'On Writing Well' guide"--The Washington Post. The libraries have two titles by him, including On Writing Well.

 

 

 

Welcome to NOVA - Part 2

By M. Quick

Maddie Quick is our new Collection Development Librarian at the Loudoun Campus. She recently answered a few questions as a BRAND NEW SHINY LIBRARIAN.

What is the pet situation at your house?

Proud cat lady here! I have 3 beautiful tabbies: Nadine (AKA Weenie, green bean, etc.) who was rescued just before the pandemic. I love her and she just barely tolerates me. And then brother & sister duo, Egg & Poppy (formal names, Aegon & Popcorn), who I rescued as 4-week-old kittens in Fall 2022 – literal loves of my life and bane of Nadine’s existence.

 

Other NOVA Library staff should definitely call on you when they need . . . ?

Literally anything! I’m good with giving design & crafting advice, making a homemade loaf of sandwich bread, decluttering/organizing a space, and/or cleaning enthusiastically.

What is your superpower?

Being creative! I can do a lot with a little and I’m not afraid to try something new.

center

 

 

 

 

 

Generative AI LibGuide - Draft

By N. Mueller

I've been working on a LibGuide for Generative AI and I need your help! Please send me your feedback on the Guide. Positive, negative, neutral . . . anything. I'm also looking for content to add:

https://libguides.nvcc.edu/c.php?g=1391879

 

 

 

 

Scribble Scrawl

By N. Mobley

I hope you enjoyed the matching game!

“Summer's here and the time is right
For dancing in the street!“

(Lyrics from Dancing in the Street by Martha and the Vandellas)

 

That’s right, SUMMER officially starts in June and with that comes heading to the pool/beach, cook-outs, VACATIONS and World Ocean Day!

Enjoy putting together this puzzle featuring an occupant of the deep sea . . .

https://puzzel.org/en/jigsaw/play?p=-NtvjINt6RKJWtCsUdc4

 

 

Vacant Full-time

 

By M. Todd

Active / Advertised

LTS = Head of Cataloging

 

Unadvertised

AL = one LS1 (Reference, Outreach, & Acquisitions Specialist)

AN = no vacancies

LO = no vacancies

LTS = no vacancies

MA = one LS2 (Circulation Manager)

MEC = no vacancies

WO = no vacancies

 

Members, Etc.

A complete list of committees, members, and the dates and times of meetings is linked here. Please contact Liz Leon [ileon@nvcc.edu] to request corrections.

 

Verso

From the Stacks is published six times a year in February, April, June, August, October, and December, (mostly) on the second Tuesday of the month. Please contact Editor Liz Leon, Collection Development & Outreach Librarian, Manassas Campus to contribute an article or with ideas for regular features. Older issues live in the archives.

June contributors are Jim Harold, Library Specialist, Library Technical Services; Madison Hughes, Library Specialist, Manassas Campus; Liz Leon, Collection Development Librarian, Manassas Campus; Nadia Mobley, Circulation Specialist, Alexandria Campus; and Dean of the Library, Matt Todd.