Need Help?
Recommended Article Databases
These databases are included in the Library Catalog "Everything" search, but by using the individual databases you will get more powerful search and filtering options.
-
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
-
EBSCOhost – All Databases This link opens in a new windowThe main EBSCOhost landing page to browse or search multiple EBSCOhost databases at the same time.
-
ProQuest Research Library & Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers, including the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and many regional newspapers. (NVCC)
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-4 words related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new word or idea; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
Should a public college education be free?
college education AND free
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words right next to each other.
"college education" AND free
Use synonyms and related terms:
"free college tuition" OR "tuition-free college"
"free community college"
college AND costs
"student loans"
college AND affordability
Use the database's filters:
Full Text
Source Type
Publication Date
Look at the number of results.
Too Many: Add keywords or be more specific.
Too Few: Change keywords or make them more broad.
Ask for help!
Librarians are happy to help!