Learning Outcomes
After reading the sections on this page, you should be able to:
-
Identify the best database with which to start for each topic area below.
Art History
If you're researching a topic in art history, such as a particular work of art, start with Grove Art Online 
. Other places to search are JSTOR , EBSCOhost , and ProQuest .
For resources on using these library databases and platforms, see Resources Provided by Vendors on Using Library Databases .
Biology
If you're researching a topic on biology, start with Gale in Context: Science . Other places to search are BioOne Complete , ScienceDirect , Science Magazine , Nature , EBSCOhost , and ProQuest .
For resources on using these library databases and platforms, see Resources Provided by Vendors on Using Library Databases .
Chemistry
If you're researching a topic on chemistry, start with Gale in Context: Science . Other places to search are the American Chemical Society Publications , ScienceDirect , Science Magazine , Nature , EBSCOhost , and ProQuest .
For resources on using these library databases and platforms, see Resources Provided by Vendors on Using Library Databases .
Communication Studies
If you're researching a topic in communication studies, such as interpersonal communication, start with EBSCOhost and ProQuest .
For resources on using these library databases and platforms, see Resources Provided by Vendors on Using Library Databases .
Court Cases
If you're looking for the text of a court case, start with Westlaw. If you're looking for information about a court case, start with EBSCOhost and ProQuest .
For resources on using these library databases and platforms, see Resources Provided by Vendors on Using Library Databases .
Literature Criticism
If you're looking for literature criticism, start with Gale Literature . Other places to search are JSTOR , EBSCOhost , and ProQuest .
For resources on using these library databases and platforms, see Resources Provided by Vendors on Using Library Databases .
Political Science
If you're researching a topic in political science, start with EBSCOhost and ProQuest . Another place to search is JSTOR .
For resources on using these library databases and platforms, see Resources Provided by Vendors on Using Library Databases .
Psychology
If you're researching a topic in psychology, start with PsychArticles. Other databases to search are EBSCOhost and ProQuest .
For resources on using these library databases and platforms, see Resources Provided by Vendors on Using Library Databases .
Social Issues
If you're researching a social issue, start with Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) . Other places to search are EBSCOhost and ProQuest .
For resources on using these library databases and platforms, see Resources Provided by Vendors on Using Library Databases .