Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Article Databases
- Annual Reviews (2000-2016)Annual Review of Law and Social Science.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC)
- Legal Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowLaw journals and magazines; includes citations, summaries, and some full text. (VIVA)
- Westlaw Campus Research (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new windowWestlaw Campus Research provides access to a wealth of U.S. law sources. Includes access to journals and law reviews, cases, statutes, regulations, and legislative materials. Searchable by keyword, legal citation and document title. Includes KeyCite for updating. (NVCC)
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 ideas related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new word or idea; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
Police AND safety
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in a specific order.
"fourth amendment"
Use an asterisk ( * ) to find multiple versions of one word. Using senior* as a search term will include results that refer to senior and seniors.
senior*