Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Article Databases
Log in with your myNOVA username and password when prompted.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis collection offers full-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It also includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources as well as the AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases. This collection is a part of the SciTech Premium Collection. (VIVA)
- Associates Programs Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowJournals on subjects commonly taught in community colleges, including accounting, agriculture, automotive, child care, cosmetology, culinary arts and food service, forestry, graphic arts, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology and welding. (VIVA)
- Food Science Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of information on topics relevant to the food industry. (NVCC)
- Global Plants (JSTOR) This link opens in a new windowContains the contributed collections of more than 300 herbaria from around the globe. (NVCC)
- GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts for scholarly journals and government documents on environmental topics. (VIVA)
- Plant Science (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focusing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology. This database is part of the SciTech Premium Collection. (VIVA)
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIncludes e-books, encyclopedias and journal articles in the Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, Health and Social Sciences & Humanities fields. After doing your search, you can limit your results to just books, reference, or journals. (VIVA)
- Agricola (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, monographs, proceedings, and theses pertaining to all aspects of agriculture. (VIVA)
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowArticles from journals, magazines and newspapers that are business oriented, company reports, industry reports and country reports. (VIVA)
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowOver 1400 full text journals covering a variety of subject areas. Note: NOVA subscribes only to the Journals portion; other parts (such as Online Books and Reference Works) will display summaries and tables of contents only. (VIVA)
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 terms related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
European gardens AND history
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in that specific order.
"garden design" AND history
Use the asterisk (*) to find multiple endings of one word. Using europe* and garden* as search terms will include results that refer to europe, european, garden and gardens.
Europe* AND garden*