Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 terms related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
napoleon AND history
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in that specific order.
"George Washington" AND history
Use the asterisk (*) to find multiple endings of one word. Using hist* AND america* as search terms will include results that refer to history, historical, america, and americans.
hist* AND america*
Article Databases
Log in with your myNOVA username and password when prompted.
- America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCitations, with full-text links to JSTOR. Provides abstracts of scholarly literature (journal articles, dissertations, book and media reviews) on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada. (VIVA)
- Daily Life through History This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, cross-disciplinary resource of social history from ancient times to the present including books, articles, images, maps, primary documents, and more; exploring how others lived and live their lives, and how their lives shaped ours. Full-text. (NVCC)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC)
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowOver 8,000 articles by top scholars that focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American history and culture. Also includes images and primary sources. (NVCC)
- U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowIncludes U.S. History reference articles, periodical articles, images, and primary documents. (NVCC)
- World History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowIncludes world history reference articles, periodical articles, historical maps, primary documents, audio and video. (NVCC)
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
- Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowBiographical information on over 380,000 people from throughout world history; from encyclopedias and news articles. (NVCC)
- Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912 This link opens in a new windowAccess to an archive of Harper’s Weekly, the 19th century illustrated newspaper published from 1857 to 1912. NOVA has access to 1857-1877, which covers the Civil War through Reconstruction. (VIVA)
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of scholarly literature (journal articles, dissertations, book reviews) on world history from 1450, excluding North America. (VIVA)
- National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new windowNational Geographic Magazine, 1888 to the present. Includes searchable images. (NVCC)
- World History Modern Era This link opens in a new windowCovers a broad range of modern history topics in depth, includes images, videos and provides easy-to-navigate access to authoritative information for research purposes.
