Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Useful Websites
- American RhetoricFull text, audio, and video database of and index to public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, and interviews, including: top 100 American political speeches, movie speeches, rhetorical figures in sound.
- Communication CurrentsCommunication Currents is an online web magazine of the National Communication Association (NCA; www.natcom.org). It is a great resource to learn about emerging research and perspectives on current topics in communication.
- Coursera: Public SpeakingCoursera provides universal access to the world’s best education, partnering with top universities and organizations to offer courses online.
- Pew Research Journalism ProjectPew Research Center provides access to a variety of nonpartisan research resources for the current issues shaping the world: public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis, and social science research.
- Say it Plain: A Century of Great African American SpeechesThis is a collection of public speeches made by African American leaders.
- Speaking While Female: Speech BankSpeaking While Female is a new initiative that showcases women speakers across time and around the world, from antiquity to the present.
- TED's Secret to Great Public SpeakingThere's no single formula for a great talk, but there is a secret ingredient that all the best ones have in common. TED curator Chris Anderson shares this secret -- along with four ways to make it work for you. Do you have what it takes to share an idea worth spreading?
- Ten Public Speaking Tips: How to Relax, Focus, and Shine at Your Next PresentationThe Purdue University Global shares ten public speaking tips to help people improve their presentation skills. Highlighted in the resource is the importance of practice and preparation along with a few other helpful public speaking hints.
- Toastmaster InternationalToastmaster International is a nonprofit organization that helps members improve their communication, public speaking, and leadership skills.
- Commission on the Arts and HumanitiesThis DC government agency provides grant funding and capacity building supports to individual (teaching) artists and cultural organizations in the city. Please check the website for the internships & volunteer opportunities in its grants, events, public art, and arts education.
- Directors Guild of AmericaThe Directors Guild of America is a labor organization that represents the creative and economic rights of directors and members of the directorial team working in film, television, commercials, documentaries, news, sports and new media.
- Internet Movie DatabaseIMDB is an online database of information related to world films, television programs, home videos and video games, and internet streams.
- Media CommonsA community network for scholars, students, and practitioners in media studies, promoting exploration of new forms of publishing within the field.
- Media History Digital LibraryA conservation and access project for historical printed materials related to cinema, broadcasting and recorded sound.
- Women Film Pioneers ProjectThe Women Film Pioneers Project (WFPP) is a freely accessible, collaborative online database that showcases the hundreds of women who worked behind-the-scenes in the silent film industry as directors, producers, editors, and more.
- Commission on the Arts and HumanitiesThis DC government agency provides grant funding and capacity building supports to individual (teaching) artists and cultural organizations in the city. Please check the website for the internships & volunteer opportunities in its grants, events, public art, and arts education.
- The Dramatists Guild of AmericaThe Dramatists Guild of America is a professional organization for playwrights, composers, and lyricists working in the U.S. theatre market.
- The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing ArtsThe Kennedy Center is a DC institution that has provided the city with memorable performances, festivals and events since 1971. The Center presents performances in numerous areas including theater, ballet, orchestra, jazz and many more. To get involved, volunteer for short-term programs or specific festivals and events, or become a “Friend.” “Friends” of the Center perform such duties as working the reception desk or giving tours to visitors.
- National Endowment for the ArtsThe National Endowment for the Arts is an independent agency of the United States federal government that offers support and funding for projects exhibiting artistic excellence.
- Performing Arts Database (Library of Congress)The Performing Arts Databases contains database and catalog resources that are intended to help users with research in the performing arts areas.