Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Infectious Disease Paper
Check out these databases to find information on your infectious disease such as epidemiology, pathophysiology, signs & symptoms, treatment, and information on how the disease is contracted.
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
In CINAHL and other databases that contain journal articles, search for articles that discuss how Emergency Medical Services effect the treatment of your disease. Remember that each keyword should go in it's own search box. OR statements should be written in one search box.
An example of a search might be (EMS OR "emergency medical services") AND Ebola
- CINAHL Complete (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature- EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Over 1400 full text journals representing many medical disciplines. The most comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health literature. Search options include peer-reviewed journal articles, evidence-based care plans, quick lessons, patient teaching materials, case studies, continuing education units (CEU), and more. (VCCS)
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Patient with a Challenge Presentation
Try Gale Biography in Context for biography information on your person. Try to pick a person that has been living with their challenge for a while so that there is information about how they have learned to overcome that challenge. Suggestion to get your started are Michael J. Fox, Christopher Reeve, Marlee Matlin, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Magic Johnson, Selma Blair, or Stephen Hawking.
- Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Biographical information on over 380,000 people from throughout world history; from encyclopedias and news articles. (NVCC)
- This link opens in a new window
Use DynaMed and Nursing Reference Center to research the challenge that your person is living with.
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Try Academic Search Complete and CINAHL to search for articles from journals, newspapers, and magazine that discuss your person and their challenge. Use keywords such as the person's name and the challenge. You might also considering using the NOT boolean term to eliminate articles that are written in support of the person's foundation, if they have one. And example of this would be:
Christopher Reeve AND spinal injury NOT foundation
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- CINAHL Complete (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature- EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Over 1400 full text journals representing many medical disciplines. The most comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health literature. Search options include peer-reviewed journal articles, evidence-based care plans, quick lessons, patient teaching materials, case studies, continuing education units (CEU), and more. (VCCS)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Culture Presentation
Use these databases and websites to find information on your countries culture such as the country's flag, a map of the country, demographics, recipes, and more.
- AtoZ: World Culture This link opens in a new window
- AtoZ: Maps Online This link opens in a new window
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
- CIA: The World FactbookSelect a country from the drop down on the right to see statistics and data about that country.
Use these websites to find information about the healthcare system in your country.
- World Health Organization: WHOSelect Countries from the navigation across the top, pick your country, go to the 'Country Profile on Regional Site', look for data and statistics as well as publications about the countries healthcare system. Look for an HiT in the publications section which will have detailed information about the healthcare system including specific information about emergency care.
Some countries do not have a link for 'country profile on regional site.' In this case, you might need to poke around a bit to find some information. Here is an example: If i choose Grenada from the list of countries on the WHO website, I can then then open the link for the regional site. Then I will look up Grenada again in the list of countries on the regional site. From here I am give a link to a more specific regional site where I will again look for Grenada in the list of countries. Finally I have some statistics and the section on Grenada from the publication 'Health in the Americas.' So this might take a bit of work, but you should be able to find some information. - OECD: Organization for Ecomonic Co-operation and DevelopmentSelect Health from the Topics dropdown in the top navigation, scroll to the bottom to the link for All Health Publications, look for country health profiles and reviews of health systems.
or
Use the search box in the upper right to search your country's name and health. There will be a number of publications covering healthcare such as Health at a Glance, Health Statistics, and Health Policy.
Use this database and research guide to find information on treating patients with culturally competent care.
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
This book is a great resource for information on the health and healthcare or different cultural groups:
Google is good. Libraries are better.
Searching Library Databases
Which database should I use?
How to find the full text
How to find help at the library
Citing Rehab Reference Center in APA
The easiest way to get an APA citation for a Nursing Reference Center article is to open the article and locate the email link at the upper right of the article. 
You can then email a PDF of the article, if available, along with the APA citation to yourself.
Make sure the check the box for citation format and to change the drop down menu to APA.
Here is what the citation should look like.
Boling, B., & March, P. (2018). Ebola. CINAHL Nursing Guide. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nrc&AN=T906071&site=nrc-live
You can find all the information for the citation in the Citation section of the article. The information just isn't put in a correctly formatted citation. To locate the Citation section of the article, look at the top left of the article for the Citation link. 
If the citation that you are provided looks different and you aren't sure how to correct it, ask for help at the library. It is your responsibility to make sure that all the information and formatting including in the citation is correct. Use a citation style guide such as Purdue OWL or ask a librarian for assistance.