Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Article Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
- CQ Press Library This link opens in a new windowIncludes CQ Researcher (detailed reports on issues in the news), and 3 political reference titles (Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, and Supreme Court Yearbook). (NVCC)
- Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowFull-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. (NVCC)
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on controversial issues in the news. (VCCS)
- Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowU.S. and international newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts. (VIVA)
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
- Peace Research Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowBibliographic records related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. (VIVA)
- Political Science Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides extensive coverage of global political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. Political Science Complete provides nearly 340 full-text reference books and monographs and more than 44,000 full-text conference papers, which includes those from the International Political Science Association. (VIVA)
- ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowSearch the most recent global news content, as well as archives stretching back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Large collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. (NVCC)
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 terms related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
education AND history
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in that specific order.
"standardized testing" AND students
Use an asterisk (*) to find multiple endings of one word. Using rac* as a search term will include results that refer to race, races, racist, and racism.
rac*