Article Databases
Log in with your myNOVA username and password when prompted.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
- AtoZ: Maps Online This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 145,000 maps and other geography resources. (NVCC)
- AtoZ: World Culture This link opens in a new windowA wealth of reference information about the nations of the world. Includes information about demographics, climate, culture and travel. (NVCC)
- National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new windowNational Geographic Magazine, 1888 to the present. Includes searchable images. (NVCC)
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowCitations and full-text articles in the area of computing and information technologies from journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the ACM, one of the world's largest computing societies. (VIVA)
- Associates Programs Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowJournals on subjects commonly taught in community colleges, including accounting, agriculture, automotive, child care, cosmetology, culinary arts and food service, forestry, graphic arts, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology and welding. (VIVA)
- Science Magazine (AAAS) This link opens in a new windowScience is a leading weekly general scientific journal, publishing primary peer-reviewed research and breaking science news. The online version of Science magazine includes access to high impact peer-reviewed research and award-winning news content, 1995-present. (VIVA)
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 terms related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
tectonic plates AND earthquakes
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in that specific order.
"tectonic plates" AND earthquakes
Use an asterisk ( * ) to find multiple endings of one word. Using geo* as a search term will include results that refer to geography, geographic, geographical, geological, and geologist.
geo*