Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Article Databases
- Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowScience topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles, images, videos and detailed experiments. (VCCS)
- Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides full-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It includes the Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases. (VIVA)
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed journals & bulletins published by American Institute of Biological Sciences member societies & other closely related organizations. (VIVA)
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIncludes e-books, encyclopedias and journal articles in the Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, Health and Social Sciences & Humanities fields. After doing your search, you can limit your results to just books, reference, or journals. (VIVA)
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed journals & bulletins published by American Institute of Biological Sciences member societies & other closely related organizations. (VIVA)
- Nature This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text, archived access to Nature Publishing Group journals, along with access to the current issues of several other NPG titles. (VIVA)
- Journal of Cell Biology This link opens in a new windowThe Journal of Cell Biology is an international peer-reviewed journal owned by The Rockefeller University. The discipline of cell biology emerged and developed on the pages of the JCB. Many seminal discoveries have been published in the journal, including the first descriptions of numerous cellular functions and structures. (VIVA)
- Plant Science (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focusing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology. This database is part of the SciTech Premium Collection. (VIVA)
- Visible Body - Anatomy & Physiology This link opens in a new windowA 3D visualization and learning tool used to explore the systems of the human body. It contains more than 500 3D model sets with directed dissections and 150+ animations that visually communicate complex physiology. It includes 12 units: cells and tissues, integumentary, skeleton and joints, muscle types, nervous, endocrine, circulatory, lymphatic, respiratory, digestive, urinary, and reproductive. (NVCC)
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 terms related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
human AND genetics
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in that specific order.
"genetic engineering" AND human
Use an asterisk (*) to find multiple endings of one word. Using gene* as a search term will include results that refer to gene, genes, genetic, and genetics.
gene*