Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Article Databases
- World History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowIncludes world history reference articles, periodical articles, historical maps, primary documents, audio and video. (NVCC)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC)
- EBSCOhost – All Databases This link opens in a new windowThe main EBSCOhost landing page to browse or search multiple EBSCOhost databases at the same time.
- ProQuest Research Library & Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers, including the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and many regional newspapers. (NVCC)
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index (1851-2014) This link opens in a new windowProvides first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images. (NVCC)
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post (1877-2001) This link opens in a new windowProvides first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. (NVCC)
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 terms related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
korea AND diplomacy
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in that specific order.
"ming dynasty" AND korea AND diplomacy
Use an asterisk ( * ) to find multiple endings of one word. Using diplo* as a search term will include results that refer to diplomat, diplomacy, diplomatic.
diplo*