Allied Health Evidence Search
- Allied Heatlh EvidenceThese databases provide the citation details, and where possible, the abstract and link to the full text of research about treatments relevant to Physiotherapy (PEDro), Occupational Therapy (OTSeeker), and Speech Pathology (speechBITE). PsycBITE contains research about cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occuring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). In addition, each database provides critical appraisal details for many of the studies that are indexed.
EBP Metasearch
A free clinical search engine, designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. As well as research evidence Trip also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news. Trip stands for "Translating Research Into Practice".
Resources for Answering Background Questions
A number of textbooks, handbooks and databases may be consulted to effectively answer background questions. The library also has many ebook collections which you can check out on the Downloading eBooks Research Guide.
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window A clinical reference tool for physicians and health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics. (NVCC)
Library Resources
NOVA Libraries - search journals books and databases here
- PubMed This link opens in a new window The world’s pre-eminent health sciences database. A free resource that allows you to search millions of journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. (VIVA)
- MEDLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The world’s pre-eminent health sciences database. While available freely online via the U.S. National Library of Medicine, Cambridge Scientific Abstracts provides an alternate interface. (VIVA)
- CINAHL Complete (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature- EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Over 1400 full text journals representing many medical disciplines. The most comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health literature. Search options include peer-reviewed journal articles, evidence-based care plans, quick lessons, patient teaching materials, case studies, continuing education units (CEU), and more. (VCCS)
Physical Therapy Resources
- PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database From Australia.... "developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews in physiotherapy".
- Physical Therapy Journal Includes information specifically for the Physical Therapist Assistant. Also available in Gale Health and Medicine database.
- Physical Therapist Online Web communication, continuing education, information resources, jobs and product links.
- PTNow PTNow is a website that provides clinical resources for physical therapists, physical therapist assistants, and students. All you need is an APTA membership and you have FREE access to all the resources.
- Disability Resources Premier site for disabilities information, current issues, extensive listings of all topics
- DO-IT Disability Related Resources on the Internet
- MEDLINEPlus (National Library of Medicine) -- Health topics, Drug information, Dictionaries, Directories,Government publications, newsletters, and references for the consumer and professional.
- Physical Therapy Web An example of a physio "ring" site: Texts & journals, PT schools, PT organizational activities, diseases & injuries, E-lists & chat, PT related sites.
- Physiotherapy Choices "Physiotherapy Choices catalogues trials, reviews and guidelines with plain English summaries. If you would prefer to read technical reports, rather than consumer summaries in plain English, you should visit PEDro..."
PEDro
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 25,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health.
Free Online Resources
National Guidelines Clearinghouse
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines from more than 100 institutions and organizations. It is sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans.
Professional Organizations such as the American Physical Therapy Association may post relevant evidence based medicine reviews or practice guidelines based on ebm reviews on their Web sites.
At least some of these will be picked up by the National Guidelines Clearinghouse.
BestBets answers to very specific clinical problems, using the best available evidence. Each topic answers a carefully worded 3-part question, using a structured approach to finding and reviewing the literature. BETs are designed specifically for Emergency Medicine.