Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Article Databases
- Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and summaries for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Indexes over 2,000 journals, books and other publications, with full-text for over 700 of them. (VIVA)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC)
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowOffers 250 journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, and others. (VIVA)
- Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCitations and full-text journal articles. Subject coverage includes world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. (VIVA)
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 terms related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
metaphysics AND epistemology
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in that specific order.
"Zeno's Paradox"
Use an asterisk (*) to find multiple endings of one word. Using ethic* as a search term will include results that refer to ethics, ethical, ethically, etc.
ethic*