Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Article Databases
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis collection offers full-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It also includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources as well as the AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases. This collection is a part of the SciTech Premium Collection. (VIVA)
- Environment Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCovers the areas of ecosystem ecology, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. The database contains full-text for more than 600 journals and 100 books and indexes over 1,500 journals. (VIVA)
- Plant Science (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focusing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology. This database is part of the SciTech Premium Collection. (VIVA)
- Salem Press Science This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of reference articles on global warming, environmental issues and forensic science. (NVCC)
- Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowScience topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles, images, videos and detailed experiments. (VCCS)
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIncludes e-books, encyclopedias and journal articles in the Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, Health and Social Sciences & Humanities fields. After doing your search, you can limit your results to just books, reference, or journals. (VIVA)
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 terms related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
erosion AND climate change
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in that specific order.
"climate change" AND erosion
Use an asterisk (*) to find multiple endings of one word. Using fossil* as a search term will include results that refer to fossils, fossilization, and fossilized.
fossil*