Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Article Databases
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIncludes e-books, encyclopedias and journal articles in the Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, Health and Social Sciences & Humanities fields. After doing your search, you can limit your results to just books, reference, or journals. (VIVA)
- Materials Science & Engineering Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides full-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications, including the METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases. (VIVA)
- ENGnetBASE Archive (Taylor and Francis) This link opens in a new windowVIVA began a subscription to ENGnetBASE in 2005. In 2016, these engineering handbooks became part of the new Taylor & Francis evidence-based ebook collection and are condsidered legacy (pre-2015) content. (VIVA)
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowJournals and conference proceedings in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. (VIVA)
- American Chemical Society This link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text from most American Chemical Society publications, from the broad coverage journals such as the Journal of the American Chemical Society to the specialist journals such as Environmental Science and Technology. (VIVA)
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 terms related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
stress AND fatigue
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in that specific order.
"compound semiconductors" AND metalorganics
Use an asterisk (*) to find multiple endings of one word. Using robo* as a search term will include results that refer to robot, robots, robotic or robotics.
robot*