Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Article Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
- ProQuest - All Databases This link opens in a new windowApproximately 40 databases, including newspaper collections, ERIC, Ethnic NewsWatch, MEDLINE, EconLit, Plant Science, Biological Sciences, Congressional Publications, and Sociological Abstracts.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowStatistics on social, political, and economic conditions in the United States. (NVCC)
- Women’s Studies International (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCovers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies including feminist research. Areas covered include sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations and education. Sources include over 2,000 periodicals, and other sources such as newspapers, newsletters, books, book chapters, proceedings, theses, dissertations, NGO studies and other grey literature. (VIVA)
- AtoZ: World Culture This link opens in a new windowA wealth of reference information about the nations of the world. Includes information about demographics, climate, culture and travel. (NVCC)
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 ideas related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
school AND socialization
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in a specific order.
women AND "pay gap"
Use an asterisk ( * ) to find multiple versions of one word. Using ethni* as a search term will include results that refer to ethnic, ethnicity or ethnicities.
ethni*