Article Databases
Refereed journal articles are written by academic experts for other academic experts. The articles are extremely detailed and focused, and use specialized vocabulary.
Trade journal articles are written for professionals and practitioners for other professionals and practitioners. They often share news in the field or examples of best practices. In these two EBSCO databases, trade journals are called Magazines.
- Education Research Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowEducation Research Complete covers all aspects of education including multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. It provides indexing for over 1,800 journals, as well as full-text for over 900 journals, 81 books, and numerous education-related conference papers. (VIVA)
- Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowTeacher Reference Center is an index of over 270 titles from trade journals, periodicals, and books. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more. (VIVA)
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 terms related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
children AND autism AND classroom
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in that specific order.
classroom AND "cerebral palsy"
children AND "down syndrome" AND classroom accommodations