Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Top Sources for eBooks and Journals
eBooks
- The Essentials : Supporting Young Children with Disabilities in the Classroom (NAEYC)Information and classroom strategies for specific disabilities. One user at a time.
- Caring for Young Children with Special NeedsInformation on specific disabilities and strategies for inclusion
- Disabilities Sourcebook (Omnigraphics Health Reference Series)Part Two describes types of disabilities (including sensory, ADHD, Down Syndrome); Part Five is on special education for children with disabilities
Trade Journals & Refereed (Scholarly) Journals
Start by searching for the special need you've selected. For example: autism, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, cerebral palsy, hearing AND disability, hearing disorder, hearing loss, visual AND disability
- Teaching Young ChildrenNAEYC publication
- YC: Young ChildrenNAEYC Publication
Article Database - Search thousands of education-related trade journals (called magazines here) and refereed journals at the Same Time
- Education Research Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Has refereed journal articles and trade journal articles on many aspects of education, from early childhood to higher education. In this database, for trade journals select both "Magazines" and "Trade Journals" in your list of results.
Database Search Tips
- Select the most important 2-3 ideas related to your topic.
What are some early childhood classroom accommodations for children with autism?
- Type AND between each new keyword or idea.
early childhood AND autism
- Identify and use synonyms and related terms in your search - not all authors will use the same words to identify the same ideas.
early childhood AND autism AND classroom
early childhood AND autism AND education
early childhood AND autism AND teaching
early childhood AND hearing loss
early childhood AND hearing disorder
early childhood AND hearing impairment
Books & eBooks
Library Catalog Search Tips
- Type in just the most essential keywords (for books with information on history, characteristics, causes, and prognosis, start by searching JUST for the name of the disability):
down syndrome
down syndrome AND children
- Use this filter in your list of results to view ebooks:
- ​Availability > Full Text Online
Suggested Books
- Gale Encyclopedia of Children's HealthUse the search box to type in your topic. Includes mental health and depressive disorders
- Learning Disabilities Sourcebook (Omnigraphics Health Reference Series)Part Two describes types of learning disabilities; Part Four is on the educational process
- Disabilities Sourcebook (Omnigraphics Health Reference Series)Part Two describes types of disabilities (including sensory, ADHD, Down Syndrome); Part Five is on special education for children with disabilities
- The Wiley Handbook of Early Childhood Development Programs, Practices, and PoliciesSee Part III, Chapter 10 on Children with Disabilities
- Handbook of Early Childhood Special EducationClick on Springer eBooks to view.