Learn More About Your Topic and Begin Refining It
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 500 reference books on a variety of topics. (NVCC)
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on issues in the news. Reports include background information, chronology of important events, pro/con section, outlook, and more. (VCCS)
Articles
Search for scholarly articles in library databases. Go to Databases by Subject and see Current & Controversial Issues databases (some linked below), or explore databases in other subject areas related to your topic. For example, articles about the cost of tuition in higher education will also be available in databases under Education (EDU, CHD).
Remember not to write sentences search boxes. Search by topic or keyword.
Look for related keywords or subjects to continue searching, and see menu tools to print, email, and cite articles.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on controversial issues in the news. (VCCS)
- ProQuest Research Library & Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers, including the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and many regional newspapers. (NVCC)
